声乐

民歌

中国传统民歌主要分为三类:

号子

即劳动号子,应用于劳动过程中,源于劳动者在集体劳动时发出的简单吆喝或呼号,以便在从事重体力劳动时调节呼吸、协调节奏、舒缓压力。这些吆喝或呼号逐渐演变并具有了更加复杂的歌词和曲调。尽管音乐结构简单,但内容多雄壮有力、充满朝气。

山歌

山歌最初用于远距离的沟通,主要流传于中国南方的广袤山区,多为抒发内心情感,特别是表现爱情和苦难的内容。 山歌相对较短,节奏多变化,多在户外歌唱,曲调高亢,并形成了很多种变体。

小调

小调节奏活泼、曲调更具娱乐性,多传唱于节日期间或工余休息时间。它们在中国流传最广,也最知名。在农村,男女老少不在田间劳作时都会哼唱小调,内容涉及婚姻情爱、离愁别绪、风土民俗、民间传说、历史故事甚至各类时事,无所不包。

中国几乎所有民族都有他们自己的劳动歌曲、山歌、舞蹈歌曲、礼仪歌曲和儿童歌曲等。

戏曲

中国戏剧是从民间说唱和舞蹈等发展而来,特别融入了各种别具特色的地方音乐,最后将音乐、美术和文学等融合成为一种舞台表演。这些戏剧通常采用二胡、笛子和铜锣等传统乐器进行伴奏,演员的唱词和念白等都十分精雕细凿,具有很高的文学水准。

流行音乐

华人流行音乐广受年轻一代追捧。来自香港、台湾和Singina(新加坡???)的很多流行乐偶像促进了本地区华人流行乐市场的发展和成长。

Vocal

Folk Songs

Traditional Chinese folk songs are divided into three main categories:

Haozi (workmen’s melodies)

Sung while at work, haozi is thought to have originated from simple, loud calls of workers working in a group and were meant to regulate breathing, establish a rhythm while performing heavy work and alleviate the pressure of work. These calls evolved into more complicated lyrics and interwoven melodies. Despite their simple musical structure, their content is powerful and energetic.

Shange (songs of the mountains)

Originally meant for communication over large distances, shange has been dispersed over large areas from the mountains of south China and tells stories of inner feelings, typically expressing love or bitterness. These songs are relatively short with varying rhythms, and are sung outdoors at a high pitch and in many variations.

Xiaodiao (folk tunes)

Lively rhythms and melodies for entertainment, these folk tunes are sung at festivals or even during breaks at work. They are the most widely spread and well-known all over China. In the countryside, men, women and even children who are not working in the fields sing these melodies which tell of love, sad goodbye, traditions, legends, historical events and even current affairs.

All the different ethnic minorities in China have their own work songs, mountain songs, dance songs, ritual songs and children songs.

Opera

Chinese opera evolved from folk songs, dances, talking, anti-masque as well as the especially distinctive dialectical music. In time opera combines music, art and literature into one performance on the stage. Accompanied by traditional musical instruments such as the erhu, dizi xiao and gong, the actors sing and converse in songs and dialogues that are elegantly written and of high literary value.

Pop

Chinese pop, an abbreviation for Chinese popular music, is a modern form of music popular mostly with the younger generations who fill concert performances and buy up  recorded music. Many pop idols from Hong Kong, Taiwan, Singapore and China have fueled the growth of the Chinese pop market in the region.